Sponsored by:

How to handle snow /mud / ice?

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2008, 09:21 PM
6CylBill
Post Fiend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
How to handle snow /mud / ice?

Me and the family will be moving up north where there will be snow. I have no experience with snow. Is there some kind of "kit" I should carry? A shovel and kitty litter? I do know with snow comes mud.

I'm not sure what to expect. I've lived my whole life down south. How should I treat ice and snow and mud?

An obvious answer is a winch but I'm not ready to put out the $$$ for that yet (the main reason being I wouldn't want to have a big ole' winch hanging on to the front end of my 2WD).

Wouldn't a shovel dig me out of mud or snow?

What I'm asking is this; How do I get out of mud / snow if for some reason I find myself in it, and how do I handle Ice?
I ordered a rear locker tonight.

Buying a 4x4 is not an option right now.

Thanks guys. Just wanting some knowledge here.

Old 10-25-2008, 09:48 PM
captain p4
Post Fiend
A locker is probably not such a good idea. If it locks up going around a corner it'll spin you around faster than you can react, especially if you've never driven in snow or ice before. Your best option is to put some weight in the bed over the rear tires, sand bags work well and can double as a traction aid if they aren't frozen solid. Some good snow tires will also help. Tire chains are useful if its deep enough to need them.

You don't really handle ice unless you have studded tires or chains, even then you're kind of just along for the ride if you hit a patch of ice.

Old 10-25-2008, 10:24 PM
Truckin4life
Street Queen to the extr3m3
The first thing i suggest you do, is goin into a big emtpy parking lot with snow or ice on it, and slide around in your truck, yea its fun, but you also need to learn how your truck reacts and slides, and how to counter the slides and how to control them as well....