Replaceing rubber roof

Search this Thread

Old 08-19-2008, 09:20 PM
nissandoc
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Replaceing rubber roof

I'm paying the price for not taking care of my rubber roof like I should have. with at least 2 leaks and some soft wood I decided to tackle this myself instead of selling one of my major organs on the black market to finance having the dealer do it( quoted $4500-$5000). I have $985 in the rubber, new vents, skylight, seals, adhesive, yada-yada-yada. The plywood is still to come. Now dont get me wrong, I'm not bashing the dealer, I work in the service industry and understand that this is a lot of labor. I just cant afford to spend that much money. After some reading on here it seemed as if Greywolf was the man I needed to ask for advice so I sent him a PM and this was his reply. Thanks to Greywolf I feel more comfortable doing this myself.

<!-- / icon and title --><!-- message --> <TABLE width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD vAlign=top>Quote:
<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=6 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD class=alt2 style="BORDER-RIGHT: 1px inset; BORDER-TOP: 1px inset; BORDER-LEFT: 1px inset; BORDER-BOTTOM: 1px inset">Originally Posted by nissandoc
hi greywolf,
it appears you are the man to ask for advice. i have an 02 carriage cameo and i havent taken very good care of the roof so now i'm paying the price. with some help from my brother we are goning to replace the entire roof. new skylight, vents and ac reseal parts are on the way. my unit is 35ft long which is about 33ft of rubber, the install kit came with 2 gallons of adhesive 6 tubes of caulk and 150ft of tape. is this enough? any tips or advice would greatly be appreciated. i'll have the plywood ready if i need it

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
It's enough if nothing goes wrong. Don't cut any holes in that rubber until it's glued down except for a vent pipe.