1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

timing my 289 ford engine

Search this Thread

Old 03-06-2008, 03:48 PM
cool 48
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
timing my 289 ford engine

Well, after my little ordeal with the points crapping out on me in the 48 f1, I decided to buy a timing light>( I'm a bike mechanic, no need till now). I got it in today ,adn have also ordered a Mallory electronic ignition with matching coil. I was reading on how to get ,and where to find the timing marks ,and stumbled accross some interesting info. I noticed back when I had points problems, that I have a dual point distributor. The other thing I noticed was that my valve covers are really cool looking. They say Cobra powered by Ford. I didn't think much of it until I read today that Ford put dual points distributors in the Cobras. And that the HP rating is 271 hp. That's a heck of a lot better than 215 hp. This truck has been a little hard to start ,and I think the new ignition will recify that problem. Also ,I need to hook up the electric choke on the carb. It shouldn't be too hard, but can anyone tell me the timing marks on this baby.?? I have used my finely tuned ear on scooters, and I am usually very close. But, I want it to be dead on. Thanks in advance.

Old 03-06-2008, 05:47 PM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 610 Likes on 379 Posts
The engine you are refering to (271 HP engine) would have had solid lifters and a Holley 4-bbl. Is your's solid lifter? They idled at around 1,000 RPM, were pretty wild cams.

Old 03-06-2008, 06:28 PM
OldgreenF1
Elder User
A note on your Cobra valve covers. They were a common aftermarket add on.
The ones I always see are black crinkle finished powder coated. You can get them with the Ford logo, Mustang logo and Cobra logo.
You intake should read Cobra right by the thermostat housing.

Old 03-06-2008, 10:05 PM
cool 48
Senior User