1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Diesel Newby - Starts With Block Heater, but not Without?

Search this Thread

Old 12-24-2007, 07:55 AM
groovin
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Diesel Newby - Starts With Block Heater, but not Without?

I just bought a 1986 F-250 with 185,000 miles on it. The previous owner warned me that it would only start after having the block heater on it for a couple of hours. It was about 41 degrees the other day and I thought I would try it without the block heater to warm it up. Gave out a pretty good puff of white smoke and turned over, but just acted like it wasn't getting fuel. I'm pretty new to diesel engines, so I probably have some hard to break "gas habits", so I tried the old pump-the-gas-pedal-til-she-starts trick and it didn't work. I DID however wait for the glowplug lite to go off...

Anyway, I plugged it in and took the dog on his walk, then 1 hour later tried it again - it fires right up. And, of course, if it's warm, it starts very easily.

The truck currently is just a weekend warrior, but if I hope to drive it to work and save a trip to town for lumber or whatever else might be needed, I would like the truck to start without having to warm it up every 2 hours or plug it in again.

Just wondering where to start? One of the batteries looks to be pretty old. Maybe there is something within the fuel system that needs to be changed or cleaned? Glo-plugs? Appreciate any ideas you might have about where to start so that I don't replace things that don't need replacing? Please, please don't tell me it's probably the fuel injector pump because I heard those are expensive...

Thanks!

Old 12-24-2007, 08:50 AM
jimlj
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post