copper lines

Search this Thread

Old 05-22-2007, 02:18 PM
Lui
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
copper lines

Greetings, I was wondering if copper tubing is suitable for use on
transmission cooling lines, brake lines,power steering all I have ever seen is rubber hoses and steel lines. Is it that copper cannot do the job or is it a cost thing.
Was wonderin cause I gotta replace some lines on my truck and being a plumber I thought it might look cool using copper instead.
thanks
Lui

Old 05-22-2007, 03:03 PM
jowilker
Fleet Owner

Received 46 Likes on 44 Posts
Good question Lui, I don't know why it wouldn't work, but maybe someone else can shed some light on the subject.

I do know that the steel is not a thin wall.

John

Old 05-22-2007, 04:25 PM
cobraguy
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I've used copper for coolant and fuel and had no problems.

Old 05-23-2007, 12:56 AM
frty7ford
Elder User
unless they can stand a lot of pressure I would not use copper for power steering. While I was in the Navy we lost a power steering line on a work truck. we needed the truck and instead of waiting it took the old line to the hydrolics shop they made a 1500 psi line and it came apart when it was used next we made a 3000 psi line and it held. by the way both of these lines were leak and pressure checked prior to installation. copper should work for everything else as they are all low pressure. It would even work for the return line on the power steering.

Old 05-23-2007, 01:52 AM
Torque1st
Posting Legend
Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts
They apparently don't allow copper for LP or propane on vehicles anymore because of the danger of cracking from vibration. I have heard that copper was also illegal for use on gasoline fuel lines but I have not seen any specific regulatory text on that. On the other hand Coast Guard regulations require copper fuel lines. I guess steel rusting in a marine environment is more of a hazard then copper cracking.