How to get 325HP out of a 93 351W?

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2007, 02:10 AM
masseysbronco
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question How to get 325HP out of a 93 351W?

Ok so this is my first time posting outside the big bronco forum, and I have a very limited knowledge of all the math and stuff that goes into figuring the power output of an engine. My 351 has 205000 miles on it and runs perfectly, but i'm trying to get a plan toghether for when its time to be replaced. Other than some bolt ons ( throttle body, K&N FIPK, electric fan conversion, ect) its completly stock. I want a minimum of 325hp, it has to remain fuel injected, street legal, able to pass emissions, NA, and if possible run on 87 or 89 pump gas. Can someone point me in the right direction as far as what it takes to get this amount of power out of this engine?

Old 05-05-2007, 05:54 AM
HemiEater
Postmaster
if it's getting a complete rebuild I would stroke it to a 393 it's cheap and easy and will up the torque number big time.......

AFR185 heads
rpm intake
750vs holley
cam???something in the 220@.050 duration..I would call a custom builder myself....
long tube headers

should put you way over your goal with out spinning it to the moon.

have a good one and good luck.....

Old 05-05-2007, 06:57 AM
masseysbronco
Posting Guru
Question

Couple more questions

1. if I have have it stroked, I'll have to run premium fuel won't I?

2.I don't want to offset the lifetime of this engine too much for performance.

3. I know a lot of people disagree with this, but it has to stay EFI, i don't do carbs. I'd like to stay within the limits of speed density to get the power i'm after, but I can make the swap to mass air if I have too.

4. I have never bought a new engine, so I have to ask, since I allready have a 351, should I have my block rebuilt or is it cheaper to get a crate engine or long block and and put it in myself?

5. Are there any crate engines or online places you would recommend?