Sponsored by:

What to lube with before installing heads

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2002, 07:07 PM
bgblktruk
Tuned
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I've got an 88 with the 302 in it that I took the heads off to replace a broken exhaust valve. I cleaned the top of the block of gasket material and dirt. I was careful to keep contaminents out of the cylinder but some did go in there and some small particles may still be sitting around. I was wondering if it would be alright to pour some oil over the cylinders and the areas where the lifters ride to remove some of the debris. I also wanted to know if I should lube the cylinders/pistons with something prior to tightening the heads down. If you have any suggestions please be thorough in describing what to do, this is my first time removing heads and restarting an engine. The other thing is I was wondering if I can or should clean the top of the pistons and if so how and with what. Hope you can help cause I have limited experience with being this deep into an engine.

Old 05-08-2002, 08:02 AM
Bob_VT
Elder User

Clean everything and use a vacuum to suck the particles off and out of the cylinders. If you attempt to clean the carbon off the pistons be very carefull. The stuff that falls into the space by the rings will DESTROY your cylinder walls. That carbon is very abrasive stuff and it will work it's way into the rings. Yes, you can pour oil on the lifters before you assemble. This will assist in not "dry starting" the motor. Once you have the heads on you also want to use a heavy duty drill to turn the oil pump. Visit your local parts store and get a longer shaft from the distributor to the oil pump. This will only be used to prime the motor with oil. You use the longer shaft in a drill and turn until you feel resistance. This will allow oil to be pumped through the system.

Good luck,

Bob

Old 05-08-2002, 11:05 AM
bgblktruk
Tuned