building a drag motor?

Search this Thread

Old 02-25-2007, 10:07 PM
tex62
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question building a drag motor?

I want to build something that will run around a 10-12 sec in the 1/4th mile. any ideas on what size motor would be good in a 85ish regular cab ranger? at this point id rather over build than under build. doing it on a low budget sort of. one motor im looking into right now is a 400 something. actully has a rusted spot on the plate... which really isnt a good thing as far as the rust. lol anyway back on track. yall lemme know some opinions i'm new to building motors but ill have some good babysitters to make sure i dont screw up. just want more imput. thanks guys. sorry if this is alittle jumbled I'm tired as hell haha

Old 02-25-2007, 10:24 PM
Torque1st
Posting Legend
Received 26 Likes on 26 Posts
Try the 460 engine forum guys for good ideas!

Old 02-26-2007, 07:25 PM
airharley
Postmaster
Best info to give without knowing the exact engine and budget is to build the lower end first. If you build the lower end first your engine will be able to handle anything you add later. Keep in mind that you should concider the pistons with what type of heads you want to run in the end, think compression ratios. Here's an example: If your cylinder heads have 100cc chambers with -20 cc dish pistons, 8.2-1 and you add flat tops it will give you a CR of 10.5-1. If the new heads have 76cc chamber it may require you to change the pistons again to bring the CR down from 13.5-1. You see what I mean? So choose the heads you want before you build the killer engine with stock heads.

Things to have done by the machine shop: line bore the mains to ensure it has no chance of adding drag from any offset, rebuild or upgrade the rods to include the rod cap hardware, use forged pistons, mock and deck the block to get rid of any variances between cylinders in compression ratio, and balance the rotating assembly as low as the machine shop can take it.