1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Strobe Kit Reccomendations?

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2006, 09:49 AM
fei1
Mountain Pass
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Strobe Kit Reccomendations?

Hey guys I was wondering if any of you have installed a strobe kit on your trucks. I was considering getting one for my truck because of all the times I need something more than the traditional four-ways like following a piece of equiptment on a road and snow plowing. I like the way the white stroes stand out and I have been pricing a few different brands I found in AW Direct. Just curious as to what brand you went with, where you bought it, and if it the power box makes any noise when the strobes are on?

Thanks for the info,
Mitch

Old 10-17-2006, 12:21 PM
tvsjr
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Mitch-

I've been doing installs in emergency apparatus for quite a few years, and I'm a volunteer myself, so my own vehicles are equipped with lighting. Personally, I'd stick with a known, name-brand. Whelen would be my choice.

In general, when doing hide-away strobes on a Super Duty, I'll install tubes in the front turn signal housings, brake lights, and reverse lights. However, this presents a significant problem... red and white lights are illegal in almost every state unless you're an authorized emergency vehicle. I see that you're in PA from your profile... they are extremely picky about lighting up there. Red lights are ONLY authorized on marked, department-owned vehicles (fire and police) or on the personal vehicle of a fire chief/assistant chief. White lights are authorized for any emergency vehicle... however, in the emergency services world, there's a big push to eliminate white to the rear of vehicles (and even to the front unless in the moving mode) as they tend to blind drivers.

Refer here:
http://www.pacode.com/secure/data/06...hap173toc.html