1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Tire exploded on me today

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2006, 11:22 PM
hokie350lt1
5th Wheeling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Tire exploded on me today

I've never had a tire blowout on me before untill today. Couldn't belive it on the stock tires with only 11k miles on them. I was on my way home from work going 65 down the highway and it just blew, loud bang and everything, luckly it was the rear and I didn't lose control. Air pressure was good as of last week and still is on the remaining tires. Guess I'll be makin a trip to the dealer tomorrow to see what is covered under the tire warranty. Any advice before I go in tomorrow? I'm no expert when it comes to what makes tires this day in age blowout besides the usual wrong air pressure. I'll try and attach a picture of the tire here. Basically the entire tread section disconnected from the sidewall, pretty dramatic.

Old 08-04-2006, 12:23 AM
LVEILLON
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
hokie350lt1...Give us the Name, Size and series so we can all watch for this. There was a salesman in the service dept. when I was getting my second oil change that had a very similar blowout.

Have you been towing anything really heavy like trailers or 5th wheels in winding roads that would have put heavy side-loads on your truck? Have you rotated your tires within that 11K miles? What kind of Pressure have you been running?

I have PSI gauges on each of my stems that show Green when good and Red when low/high. I couldn't imagine having that while towing a 5th wheel.

Keep us posted...

Old 08-04-2006, 03:51 AM
Maxium4x4
Super Moderator
Received 3,392 Likes on 2,089 Posts