what is this and do I need it?

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2006, 12:12 PM
mason55
Tuned
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
what is this and do I need it?

I am still a little new with these Y Blocks. On My 292 I have what appears to be a second "oil filter". It's on the drivers side of the block up in front right by the fuel pump. A hose from the oil filler tube cap goes to this "secondary" looking filter and it also has a down tube from there pointing straight down to the ground. My question is: 1. What is this? 2. Do I need this? 3. Can I remove this? I wanted to buy a chrome filler tube cap ..... but didnt see one that a hose came off of? The other reason I want to get rid of this is it gets the lower half of the engine and the front axle area filthy with grease. Is this some sort of "blow by" that is needed or can it be removed? Any help on this matter would be so appreciated.

Thanks,
Mason

Old 02-05-2006, 02:01 PM
shipfitter1966
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thats the crank case ventilator, in todays engine it would be a pcv valve (positive crankcase ventilation) type. The Y block actually came with three versions, you have one like I have on my motor, air and vapors enter the canister and flow through a filter before exiting through the draft tube, during forward travel of your car or truck a slight vacuum in the tube is generated which assists in drawing vapors from the crankcase. The assembly is baffled and equipped with a drain-back tube to prevent oil loss. And yes you need this, unless you want the oil in your motor to turn into sludge...... Hope this helps.

Old 02-05-2006, 04:35 PM
46yblock
Postmaster