hesistation on acceleration, 02' 5.4 f150

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2005, 05:56 PM
[RoH]r=e=v
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
hesistation on acceleration, 02' 5.4 f150

I know I'm beating a dead horse, and you've all heard this question a thousand times but....here's the thing. I've got a 2002 f150 supercrew 5.4 w/ 80k miles, it started missing on acceleration about a month ago. So I replaced the plugs w/
iridium bosch from napa, and still had the problem. So I took it to my local Ford dealer, paid $70 dollars to have them tell me "no codes were found". But they recommended a tranny flush. Well, I'm a motorcycle technician by trade and I know the difference between a tranny problem and a misfire, atleast I think..lol.
So I bought one COP and replaced it on every cylinder to see if it repaired the misfire, but no. While I had them off I cleaned, regreased and checked the boots, they were fine.I checked the MAF and it looks clean. I'm startin to get worried here..Any ideas? And yes I washed the motor before this all happened but I havent found any moisture anywhere.

Old 10-24-2005, 09:00 PM
FortyFords
Post Fiend
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Have you had this truck on a scanner yet ? looking for misfires /cylinder .
Cheap scanners won't do it you need a good one.
If it is indeed a misfire.
What about injectors,fuel filter,fuel pressure.Knock sensor.
My personal opinion get rid of the bosch plugs,there have been problems in the past with them.

Old 10-25-2005, 09:33 PM
[RoH]r=e=v
New User