2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Frame replacement worries

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2005, 12:29 AM
motodave
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Frame replacement worries

Short story first, My wife wrecked the 04F150 super crew and insurance had the body shop replace the frame and variuos other body work fix. How worried would you be on resale now or down the road? I've had the truck back now for 3 days and have personally found 3 major things wrong which I corrected,bed not straight on frame, steering wheel shuddering ( loose steering shaft) , and front bumper bolts not tight. I work on motorcycles for a living and we do replace frames at times and it is a big job with hidden adventures sometimes appearing and requiring insurance supplements,but what do you all think about frame replacements in general? should I get rid of the truck or tough it out? The body shop has a lifetime warranty on any repairs done to the truck. Thanks in advance for any comments. Motodave

Old 08-07-2005, 07:33 AM
hardcase72
Freshman User
If you have a LIFETIME warranty and you think the SHOP will be around longer then the truck I dont really see what you have to worry about! Since the wife already "BROKE" it in for you, you wont be so sick the next time someone bangs a shopping cart into it!

Besides even if you try to sell it, now or later you'll have to GIVE the thing away with all the FORD DEALERSHIP specials on new vehicles (employee pricing). Them dealerships are screwing all us used/previous new car and truck owners.

Wont be able to get squat for our used cars, and the only options will be hang on to it or trade it in for next to nothing! (oh wait, just what the dealership wants!!!!)

Old 08-07-2005, 08:09 AM
rougeriver
Fleet Mechanic
Received 12 Likes on 10 Posts