General NON-Automotive Conversation No Political, Sexual or Religious topics please.

Professional CDL Class A Driver

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2001, 12:10 AM
MEPHISTO_XES
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Old 07-16-2001, 05:07 PM
Supercab
Lead Driver

Received 26 Likes on 18 Posts

I've been working for a printing company for 2 1/2 years now delivering their materials in central and south Florida, I drive a 2001 Freightliner FL70, with single rear axle, with a GVW of 33,000lbs, they, since day 1 have overloaded the truck at least on 25% of my runs, I just last Tuesday confronted them with it, & now they are getting a little vindictive about the whole thing, I guess because they'll have to dig a little deeper into their wallets to pay me for extra runs, they saw to it that I only got in 37 hours last week, and are starting to cut my hours already this week, I guess they think it'll make me quit, they have always made sure I got at least 40 hours work, and up till the last few months I was working about 5 hours of legitimate overtime, any feedback??????? Thanks, Rick

Old 07-16-2001, 05:59 PM
BobS

Some options:
1) look for a new job.
2) GO to your boss (or whoever you advised that the truck was over weight) and explain that your weren't trying to make trouble but if they understand the penalties for an overweight truck and want to cover you for that, you don't care if it is over weight and your like your hours back.
3) See 1 and report them to the local DMV or whoever handles overweight vehicles in Florida when you've got it as well as hiring a lawye* (damn I used a dirty word). If you're really mad offer the lawy** 80% of whatever he/she can collect.

Bob
'66 7 Litre Convertible, top loader, 3.25 Traction-lock, 427 Sidewinder Intake, 780 Holley, Windage tray, SCJ Exhaust manifolds, H-pipe, MSD, Line-lock, AM/FM/8-Track/CB
'88 F150 XLT Lariat, 302, 5 speed, 3.08
'98 Mustang, 3.8, 5 speed
'99 Ranger, 3.0, 5 speed, 3.73 posi

Old 07-16-2001, 08:10 PM