North Carolina Chapter Join Chapter, Leader:Benztechnc

Newbie here.

Search this Thread

Old 05-07-2005, 11:32 AM
jwcorder
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie here.

I posted in the parts section but I thought I would announce here as well. I just inherited a 1970 Ford F-100 Shortbed. I believe it has a 352 with 4 barrel carb but I don't really know how to tell the difference. My bro just always complained that it got about 8 miles to the gallon.

Anyway, I need some frontend parts. I want to go back as close as original as possible. I need Grille, Headlight housings, both front fenders, front bumper, pretty much everything on the frontend (it was hit in the front when someone pulled out in front).

The trucks been sitting awhile but little body rust I am sure there are hidden problems throughout. I am going to get a battery early this week and see if she fires up.

I need reputable parts resources / junk yards / slavage yards in the Winston-Salem area. I live in Ronda, NC and will drive as far as Greensboro/High Point/Lexington/Boone area to get A+ parts. I cannot afford to go new for the grille and fenders but I want the best quality used parts that I can afford. I would prefer no bodywork just sand and paint for the fenders. Same for the grille and headlight housings. Any help is much appreciated. This is my therapy right now and I am working on a very tight budget.

Thanks.

Old 05-11-2005, 07:50 PM
jwcorder
Senior User
Wow, no one in NC who knows of a honey pot for parts?

Old 05-11-2005, 09:11 PM
artj66
Senior User
One place to try is McLamb's in Fuquay Varina. I've been able to find many different things from them for trucks and race cars. There's another place in Raleigh, but you better be prepared to lay in the mud and pull your own parts. I'll dig through my receipts to see if I can find the name. There's also City Auto Salvage in Durham, Ashworth Performance in Fuquay Varina, and Bell's in Mooresville (I think).