Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Radial Tires: Can you switch rotation direction?

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2005, 10:55 PM
Matt Wilson
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Radial Tires: Can you switch rotation direction?

A mechanic recently told me that radial tires made in recent years can be safely swapped from left to right. I remember as a youngster working my way through college as a mechanic, I was always told never to swap radial tires from one side of the vehicle to the other. In other words, I was told you should not install a used radial tire such a way that it will rotate in the opposite direction from the way it was rotating previously. Supposedly this could cause a blow-out. The mechanic says it's not this way anymore.

Is this true? If so, how long have the new generation of tires been in existence?

Thanks,

Matt

Old 06-06-2005, 10:59 PM
Matt Wilson
Junior User
Ooops, sorry, I should have posted this in a different category....not sure how to move it.

Old 06-07-2005, 02:35 AM
phoneman91
Cargo Master
Received 28 Likes on 26 Posts
I have been cross rotating radial tires for at least 20 years--never had a problem. I found out that cross rotation will keep the tires from making excessive noise. When a radial only rotates in one direction--the tread blocks will have the leading end more worn than the trailing end and cause noise.

I have heard that the first generation of radials couldnt be cross rotated --back in the seventies--the steel radial generation.

There are still directional radial tires that cant be cross rotated--these are usually high performance radials. My GT Mustang has a set of these on them.

Old 06-07-2005, 03:54 PM
Matt Wilson
Junior User