6.0L Power Stroke Diesel 2003 - 2007 F250, F350 pickup and F350+ Cab Chassis, 2003 - 2005 Excursion and 2003 - 2009 van

My farmer friends observations

Search this Thread

Old 06-06-2005, 08:17 PM
dlpinkc
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My farmer friends observations

This is not meant to anger anyone, I just thought it was a rather 'down to earth' perspective'.

I work in the IT industry, make a fair wage as do my co-workers. One of my co-workers also farms almost 1000 acres (corn and soybeans). He always claims that he has to work so he can farm, but you never know...

Anyway, let him drive my new 05 today at lunch. As we were driving I was telling him that they don't put a block heater cord on in MO, nor a glove box light. After we were done, I had neglected to tell him about the power sliding rear window and the adjustable pedals.

He looked at me like I had a screw loose. Said, 'So these guys figure we have everything else on this truck, let's make the pedals adjustable. And while were at it, lets make the sliding window power operated'. BUT, let's not put a glove box light or power cord on it.

No purpose to this story, just his observations. I'll do without the glovebox light, but the block heater here in KC MO is required, or if not required, at least desired.

Old 06-06-2005, 08:38 PM
firesoutmatt
Posting Guru
Yeah thats a good one. The block heater is an option on the 05 and your salesman should have informed you on that since you live in MO. The glove box light is just Ford cutting cost just like the hood blanket, splash shields and the light on the door panel. You can go back to Ford and order the cord for the block heater and if you really need the glove box light you can get that too.

Old 06-06-2005, 08:53 PM
Kep4
Jäger
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
I'll assume, which is a bad thing to do, that you bought your truck off the lot instead of ordering it with the options you wanted.