Tekonsha Prodigy Brake Controller & Reese Hitch

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2005, 05:05 PM
TPop
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Tekonsha Prodigy Brake Controller & Reese Hitch

I am a newbie I am stepping up and purchasing an excellent conditioned 2003 SD 6.0L PSD CC SB Lariat. I am using the unit pretty much to pull a 32ft 5th wheel weighing in at 11,500lbs. Hence the used purchase. I have decided to go with the Reese 16K Kwik Slide hitch.

My Q: Is on the brake controller. If I get the Reese hitch can I get the Tekonsha Prodigy Brake Controller to match up with it, or am I better of to just leave things all Reese, and just buy their brake controller.

After doing various reseach: the majority like the Reese Hitch, and the Prodigy Brake Controller, but I can't see anywhere where someone is using both.

Your replies and comments are greatly appreicated.

Old 01-31-2005, 06:15 PM
horsepuller
Post Fiend
Received 43 Likes on 43 Posts
Get the Prodigy. You'll be happy with it. Hit<!>ches and bra<!>ke cont<!>roller's don't need to be matched by brand.

Welcome to FTE and thanks for joining us in the Towing forum!

Old 02-01-2005, 02:59 AM
NoMo
Postmaster
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
As Horsepuller said, the hitch & brake controller don't need to be the same brand as there is no interaction between the two.

I have a Reese hitch & a Tekonsha Voyager brake controller. Been using this combo for years with no problems. However, I'm thinking of upgrading to the Prodigy controller. From what I've read, they're pretty nice.

Congrats on your "new" truck & RV. Be sure to check out IRV2.com and trailerlife.com for info on your coach and camping in general.

Old 02-01-2005, 05:22 PM
tbax46
Senior User
prodigy & reese

I have a prodigy and a 16K reese. Been using it for two years. The prodigy is great. I set it two years ago and haven't touched it since and I made all kinds of stops.

Old 02-01-2005, 05:23 PM
newnamlawn
Freshman User