Urgently Need Suggestions on 302 Rebuild...

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2004, 12:44 AM
jayp
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Urgently Need Suggestions on 302 Rebuild...

I am planning to rebuild the stock 302 in my 89 ford F-250 4x4. I am very new to engine rebuilding and realize that lack of proper planning will result in me spending way more than I should and wishing I'd done something different to begin with. To start with I am wishing to drive the truck regularly, pull moderate loads, make the pipes talk to me occasionally and would like to feel it rumble a little. I would like to know that the motor is stought, which in its current state, it is most definately not for the size of truck. I love the sound of tuned up engine but don't need to go extremely wild and must operate within a reasonable budget. I have been considering a 331 or 347 stroker and from what I have read sounds like the 331 is probably a better fit for my needs but I am not certain about this. I have also thought about changing the rear end gearing, which is believe are 3:55's. I would appreciate so very much is someone would suggest the parts I need to acheive my objective and supply me with the vendors who would have the parts and to suggest a compatible rear end gear to give me some more torque/pulling power. Would also like to know if it is possible to get a bull dog gear in the stock 5 speed transmission or if changing the gears would accomplish this? Last question is how does changing the rear end gears affect the transfer case gearing and 4 wheel drive gearing? Sorry for so many questions, just really need some detailed help to get me going on this and confident I'm going in the right direction? Would like to have completed by spring of this year? Thanks very much for your replys.

Old 11-23-2004, 06:56 AM
jwtaylor
Postmaster