Aerostar Ford Aerostar

90 4.0l crankshaft sprocket

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2004, 01:17 PM
jsaw
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation 90 4.0l crankshaft sprocket

My poor dad and his damn car problems.....

He had his van just die on him yesterday.took it to his friendly mechanic, figured out it was the crank pulley/balancer, whatever you want to call it.

one mechanic said "it's screwed, fill it full of JB Weld and sell it."

great advice...:<

I'm a pretty good DIY mechanic, seems to me that on most engines, there is a "keyed" timing sprocket that is sandwiched in between the pulley and the crankshaft...not too tough to replace if your skilled.
If the key itself has snapped or worn off, then replace the thing, right?

Or is there some sort of engineering fiasco I don't know about??

Any help is appreciated!!!!!!!!!!! thanks, Josh

Last edited by jsaw; 10-14-2004 at 01:59 PM.
Old 10-14-2004, 02:38 PM
aerocolorado
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
This post may not elicit a lot of responses as others may be equally puzzled as to what your mechanic is referring to. Yes, there is a harmonic balancer but the reference to using JB Weld makes no sense in terms of a practical repair method. If he means the key has shorn off, then as you suggest, replacement is not that difficult. To my knowledge, this is the first reported case on this forum of a 4.0 shearing the balancer key. Given its rarity, perhaps another opinion is in order. Engines can just die from a lot of other reasons as well. If you provide some additional details perhaps that will generate a greater response.

Old 10-14-2004, 03:01 PM
jsaw
New User
thanks ....here's all I know.

I'll clarify....The van just died instantly, like that. Checked the fuel pump-ok. checked the t-belt\chain - ok.

Upon further inspection the original mechanic found the crank pulley to be slipping on it's own. (this is all info I got from pops over the phone)