Posting Guru

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Should I buy a Bronco II

Old 07-25-2001, 08:25 PM
PaulGS
New User
Should I buy a Bronco II

Help! I have given it a lot of thought in regards to the purchase of my next vehicle and I am leaning towards the Bronco II. We don't have rust problems in Oregon so that issue is at rest. I sure would be grateful for your input and experiences.
I like the idea of a smaller bronco and a solid roof over my head. I think they will eventually make a comeback- so I'll get a headstart.

1) Am I better off with a pre fuel injection rig or not. I assume they are easier to work on. ( no smog requirements here so far)
2) Sounds like the 2.9 heads can be a problem is the 2.8 better or worse?
3) I have to have an aotomatic! Is the C5 on the older model any better than the troublesome A4LD? (read of lots of problems even with rebuilds)

I am a light use 4x4 driver. Mainly to go snowboarding and pull a light sailboat to the lake once in awhile. My 90 Toyota is heavy(4,400 at the scale today- incl rack and misc..),parts are hideously expensive and I'm ready for a change. I also plan to modify for a hardtop (couldn't find one on the internet other than chopped/soft tops). I have a friend in fiberglass and sheetmetal. Found a source for windows. I realize the glass allows a view but I never have more than 1 adults with.
Thanks. Sorry for being long winded.
Paul

Old 07-26-2001, 04:34 PM
1986broncho2gal
Junior User
Should I buy a Bronco II

We have an '85 with a 2.8. Piece of junk. We have '86 and '90's both with 2.9's. Never a problem with anything as of yet. I would say to go with a 2.9. As far as the tranny? I'm not sure. Both of ours work fine. Good luck on your decision.

Old 07-27-2001, 02:06 AM
kold_phuzhun
Freshman User
Should I buy a Bronco II