2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:
View Poll Results: Do you downshidt when coming to a stop or slowing down?
Yes
7.14%
No
92.86%
Voters: 42. You may not vote on this poll

Downshifting

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2004, 03:13 PM
asinatra
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Downshifting

I always hear on the boards people complaining about brake dust, and wanted to know if you downshift when your are coming to a stop or slowing down to save your brakes.

Old 08-13-2004, 03:48 PM
gmcplus03
Senior User
that may help, but im a lazy driver. if i wanted to shift constantly i would have a manual trans and wouldnt be driving an f150 since its not available.

Old 08-13-2004, 05:05 PM
HawaiianStyle
Senior User
asin- I was just down at the dealership today and spoke to the service manager regarding the brake dust. He said ford is aware of the defect but will not warranty the change to the new motorcraft pads unless it can be proven that both front and rear are causing the same problem. we looked at my wife's Expy then showed me a 04 F150 that was in for service and a Sport trac that is used as a customer loaner. the funny thing was all three suffered from the dreaded brake dust....only on the front wheels. huh?? even with 4 wheel disk brakes, dust was only on the front but they were aware of it but they were under strict rules regarding replacement.....has to proven that all four was at fault!
I told him it sounded to be a simple explanantion for why the front fell victim and not the rear.........it has to be something with air dynamics....he laughed and so did I.

Old 08-13-2004, 05:16 PM
ATCS2004
Senior User
The only time I downshift is when I am traveling in the mountains. I first take it out of "OD" and if the truck still wants to coast too fast and increase speed then I will drop it into 2nd. This prevents riding the brakes and warping the rotors.

Old 08-13-2004, 07:23 PM
InboundFX4