Tuning and ID'ing a 292

Search this Thread

Old 07-27-2004, 09:37 PM
F250Rob
Laughing Gas
Received 17 Likes on 10 Posts
Tuning and ID'ing a 292

I've got a 56 F-250 and I'm told my family swapped out the original 223 for a 57 292 about 30 years ago. That engine is still in the truck and I'm trying to get smart on keeping it going. I'm an auto mechanic rookie but figure these kinds of motors are the best place to learn.

As far as verifying it is a 292, I went on John Mummert's website and compared the casting number. It is stamped ECZ 6015A which he says can be either 292 or 312 depeding on stampings on the main bearing caps or crank flange. Is there any way to tell the difference from the outside?

I just tuned it (dwell 26deg, timing roughly 10 deg BTDC) and it idles fine, but driving around it feels like it is missing periodically. I replaced the points, condensor, rotor, and cap. The plugs and plug wires are only a couple years old, but the coil has not been changed in recent memory. Should I replace it? Do I need to learn how the vacuum advance works and tweak it somehow? Or is it most likely a carb problem?

Thanks,
Rob

Last edited by F250 Rob; 07-27-2004 at 09:40 PM.
Old 07-27-2004, 09:52 PM
46yblock
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
292 vs 312

You can get a little better idea, though still not positive id, if you look at the heads, check their casting marks and see if they are consistent with a 312.

Old 07-27-2004, 10:47 PM
F250Rob
Laughing Gas
I'll give that a shot. I have a feeling it will be tough to find the casting numbers, though, as the gasket on my exhaust manifold seems to be in the area that John Mummert recommends looking.