2004 - 2008 F150 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007 and 2008 Ford F150's with 5.4 V8, 4.6 V8 engine
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

anti-freeze & brakes

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2004, 10:22 AM
cruzer23
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
anti-freeze & brakes

OK how about this one took my 04 screw in yesterday because I keep smelling anti-freeze in the cab, at the same yime tell them to check the front brakes because they squeel all the time. I get it back in the afternoon, they tell me there is no coolant leak or smell, but the front brakes were shot & they had to turn the rotors. I'm calling B S 7800 mile on a truck & the brakes are shot, what gives? Oh and over 20 years as a mechanic I still smell anti-freeze in the cab. Anyone else have this problem or am I out of my mind?

Old 07-03-2004, 11:51 AM
ATCS2004
Senior User
Did they charge you for the brakes? Hope they didn't take too much off the rotors. I too can't believe that the brakes were shot.

Old 07-03-2004, 12:57 PM
Beast12
Post Fiend
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by cruzer23
Oh and over 20 years as a mechanic I still smell anti-freeze in the cab. Anyone else have this problem or am I out of my mind?
Whenever I smell anti-freeze in the cab I pray to God it is not what I think it is. But it always is....... the heater core.....weird?

-Matt

Old 07-04-2004, 12:43 PM
DKF150
New User
Funny you mention that I just noticed the smell for the first time at 5700 miles! I didn't notice it outside the truck when i got out to see if it was my truck or coming from someone elses vehicle. I don't have any leaks, but I know exactly what you mean about the heater core...That was my next thought! I have not noticed it since the one time, and it's been three or four days now.

Old 07-05-2004, 08:49 AM
mitchelw151
New User
I notice it too