Manual transmission shifts very hard when first start up

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2004, 06:06 AM
rsampson
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Manual transmission shifts very hard when first start up

Hi,
Newbie here. I'm not very knowledgeable in transmissions.

I have an 87 F150 with a manual 4 speed transmission. The transmission is the 4 speed with a very low first gear and I normally use second gear to start unless fully loaded.

I just had the transmission fluid changed and now when the truck is first started, it is very hard to shift out of second and third sometimes has a grinding type of feel through the shift stick (almost like two gears grinding against each other but not noisily, just in the feel through the shift stick). This seems to lessen as I drive. I guess because the transmission fluid heats up. Sometimes, I almost cannot get out of second!

Before I had the fluid changed I could shift like a hot knife through butter. I'm not sure what the garage used for the fluid replacement but I can find out.

Any ideas as to what is up?

Old 05-20-2004, 09:43 AM
jimandmandy
Post Fiend
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
It sounds like they used GL-5 rear axle fluid, maybe with the limited slip friction modifier additive included. That stuff is really not intended for transmissions because the syncros dont work well with EP or FM additives, causing grinding or reluctance to shift.

If that transmission was intended for ATF, that is an easy fix. If the spec is for 80W-90 GL-4 fluid, that can be a little hard to find. Redline MT-90 would be ideal in that case.

Jim

Old 05-21-2004, 07:46 AM
rsampson
New User
Thanks JIMANDMANDY.

How do I find out the fluid spec? My owner's manual just says "STANDARD TRANSMISSION LUBE" and does not get into spec numbers. The tag on the door frame says "A" for transmission type. How do I find out what tht code means?

Old 05-21-2004, 09:52 AM
larry derouin
Elder User