1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Newbie w/questions and needed advise

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2004, 04:29 PM
Sperry
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie w/questions and needed advice

Hey everyone, newbie here who is in need of some advise. I would really like to an 48-56 F1/F100 by the end of May. I'm looking for this truck to be a daiy driver except when it is snowing. Engine and transmission aren't a bid deal although I'd prefer a stick butthe biggest obstacle I see is that I must buy the truck in daily driver condition as I will not have time to do alot of work on it right away. I've had a 68 mustang coupe w/a 351c and a c6 so I've worked on classics before. I'm curretly driving a 94 gt but wil be selling it in april/may for insurance reasons. I have been in love with these trucks for some time and really want to pull one off for daily driver. I live in RI and fully support myself so $ isn't hugely abundant but make enough to maintainand slowy improve the truck. Any advice anybody has would be greatly appreciated, especially concerning what to look for when checking these trucks out. All comments are appreciated.
Sperry

Last edited by Sperry; 03-07-2004 at 04:57 PM.
Old 03-07-2004, 06:59 PM
Fordication
Laughing Gas
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
You are looking at at least 4000 for a daily driver and that will not be customized. I have a friend that has several trucks in good condition in your area. I will contact him and see if he has anything and what price range. Ed

Old 03-07-2004, 09:23 PM
fatfenders
Post Fiend
Received 123 Likes on 94 Posts
Sperry

Have you ever driven a stocker? If you are going daily driver, before you buy make sure you are OK with the engine screaming at highway speeds, very firm low speed steering and bumpsteer. And if you don't like all those things, heck buy it anyway. You'll look cool and we can help you fix it later.