Which Y-Block is the most Popular here

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2004, 07:44 PM
Fordication
Laughing Gas
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Which Y-Block is the most Popular here

Ok I was wondering which Y-Block has the most power and availability for aftermarket add-ons. I was wonderng about the 312 in particular but I am still learning so you tell me.

Old 01-08-2004, 09:35 AM
charliemccraney
Cargo Master
Received 51 Likes on 46 Posts
Most parts are interchangable among the Y-blocks. The 312 will have the most power - there is no replacement for displacement. The 292 blocks bored out to 312 and a 312 crank turned to fit are the best way to go because they offer a little more support at the mains. For a lot of information about parts go to "www.ford-y-block.com." Also check out "www.y-blocksforever.com." Most aftermarket parts will fit most Y-blocks.

Old 01-08-2004, 10:51 AM
Fordication
Laughing Gas
Thank you. I have the yblock 239 and was trying to decide whether to replace or modify. I think will upgrade to the 292 and modify. Keep the original and maybe rebuild it for posterity. Ed

Old 01-08-2004, 06:20 PM
286merc
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
239 parts are scare and pricey.
I built a .060 292 for my 54 F350, found a 64 F600 292 with a forged crank.
Going the 312 crank into a 292 route for the Altered roadster.

Old 01-08-2004, 09:21 PM
Fordication
Laughing Gas