Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2003, 09:51 PM
Drizzt
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I just recently purchased a 99 F-150 with a 4.2 and had heard somewhere that the engine was the same as the 3.8 used in the supercoupes, and it was just stroked to 4.2L. Now is there any truth to this rumour? I am also interested in what internals these engines have (hyperutectic, Forged, Cast, etc). As of right now im not looking for more power or anything like that, im just trying to do some research into this engine. I have a had a long and lustrous career with the 2.3L lima block and now apparently im moving on to something else any comments are appreciated

p.s. thanks in advance for welcoming me to the borad

Old 12-05-2003, 02:23 AM
V6Mustang
Senior User
Welcome to FTE, I'm a newbie myself, actually I'm just spying to see what you 4.2 guys are up to.

The motor in the T-Bird supercoupes is the same as your 4.2 EXCEPT the heads and intakes are a different design. They are interchangeable, but the T-Bird has a single intake runner and the 4.2 (and new 3.8's) have a dual intake runner.

I know the earlier pistons were hyperteutic, and I'm pretty sure they haven't changed them (they're definitely not forged, although if you have the money you can get some).
The crank and I believe the con rods are cast steel
Iron bock, aluminum heads, ...and a partridge in a pear tree

Old 12-05-2003, 10:52 AM
Jimmy Dean
Postmaster
Cam also I believe I hear that alot so I guess it may be true. but as far as getting headers and all I do not know if tehre are 4.2 specific, if you cannnot find somehting for the truck, research under the 3.8

Old 12-05-2003, 11:41 AM
horizonhuskies
Posting Guru
From what I understand, headers are kind of specific. Long tubes need modications, but not sure if shorty's are universal.

Garrett

Old 12-05-2003, 11:45 AM
Jimmy Dean
Postmaster