Modular V10 (6.8l)  

Can I tow this 5th-wheel?

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2003, 02:00 PM
myotis
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Can I tow this 5th-wheel?

I have posted my problem described below on two RV Forums and got responses from “Don’t do it” to “Don’t worry, you are fine”. I am trying now to solve my problem with the help of Ford Enthusiast, especially drivers who have the SD 250 with V10.

I would like to get help with a decision I am about to make regarding buying a 5th-wheel for my 2000 Ford F250 SD, V10, long bed, super cab, 4x4, 3.73 rear, no towing package, GVWR 8800, GCVWR 17000. I am currently towing a 24’ Komfort trailer and I am planning to switch to a 5th-wheel for better towing handling characteristics. I have been towing for 15 years, have a commercial driver license for driving a school bus as volunteer and about 500, 000 miles total driving experience.

Here is my dilemma:

I weighed my truck with a canopy and a plastic truck box filled with tools etc. on the bed and got 6600 lbs with an almost empty fuel tank. Adding weights for driver, passenger, 2/3 fuel tank, (future) hitch for 5th-wheel weight, aluminum truck box, and miscellaneous stuff in the cabin gets me to a truck GVW of 7430 lbs.