Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Marinating a 96 460 FI engine

Search this Thread

Old 12-04-2016, 06:31 AM
IDIoit
Fleet Mechanic
Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
Marinating a 96 460 FI engine

I have a low mileage 460 out of a 96 F350.
I have marine water logs from a 70's carb'd 460 I hope to adapt,
water pump delete plate, and some other stuff to install this engine into a 26' mini day cruiser.

I will admit, im a straight up rookie when it comes to these computerized engines.
im looking for options on power increases, and wiring
I do have a electrical and vacuum manual

does anyone have a site that will help me along?
I want to learn more about said engine and how to put this engine in my boat with all of the EFI set-up

id like to think I have the skill to get this done, and im not really afraid of it.

thanks.

Old 12-04-2016, 07:49 AM
'89F2urd
Lead Driver
Received 124 Likes on 105 Posts
What kind of boat is that? What do you use it for? I ask because what I suggest for power is going to be dictated by the type of boat it is.

Marine manifolds might not bolt up, they could be set up for carb heads which, if I'm not mistaken, will require re drilling the 460 heads to get them to fit properly.

The old speed density efis are easy swap candidates, you picked a good one. You'll need the engine harness and computer in the engine bay but that's about it for the logistics of the management.

Old 12-04-2016, 08:15 AM
IDIoit
Fleet Mechanic
the boat is a closed bow 26' 1978 Avenger Jet boat.
its got a Berkley AA pump with a stainless impeller
my intentions are to get the kids out on the water this summer.
and overnighters on the water with bond fires on the beach.
its just a cruiser, nothing fast. im hoping to achieve 55 mph.
with turn key ability. fresh water use only.
I have other boats I can take out if I wanna go fast.