1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Updates

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2016, 02:04 PM
49 F1 survivor
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Updates

Gentlemen:
My father and I just acquired a '49 F-1 95% original. It has been his dream for most of my life. He would like to have this as more of a daily driver than a show queen. It has the original flathead V8, 3 speed tranny, and 3.90:1 rear end; factory leaf springs w/ the factory HD leaf pack in the rear; and drum brakes front and rear.

I am a strong enough mechanic to make upgrades but not 100% what to do. Planning on a front disk conversion w/ master cylinder. Modify leaves for lower, better ride. Replace bias ply tires with radials. And a rear end swap for better speed.

Advice needed on above mentioned or anything else. Dad doesn't necessarily want a resto-mod; try to keep as original as possible w/o compromising drivability/safety.

Old 11-07-2016, 02:30 PM
Doc
Logistics Pro
Received 128 Likes on 55 Posts
Originally Posted by 49 F1 survivor
Gentlemen:
My father and I just acquired a '49 F-1 95% original. It has been his dream for most of my life. He would like to have this as more of a daily driver than a show queen. It has the original flathead V8, 3 speed tranny, and 3.90:1 rear end; factory leaf springs w/ the factory HD leaf pack in the rear; and drum brakes front and rear.

I am a strong enough mechanic to make upgrades but not 100% what to do. Planning on a front disk conversion w/ master cylinder. Modify leaves for lower, better ride. Replace bias ply tires with radials. And a rear end swap for better speed.

Advice needed on above mentioned or anything else. Dad doesn't necessarily want a resto-mod; try to keep as original as possible w/o compromising drivability/safety.

Welcome. I'll comment on some of the things you mentioned.