Oil & Lubrication  

Oil Change Interval

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2016, 11:23 AM
fordf150_91
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Oil Change Interval

I am a retired teamster truck driver. I have a 2011 ecoboost. The truck just turned 20,000 so you can see I don't drive much anymore. My question is, should I wait to change the oil when the truck computer tells me so, or is it better to change more often. It usually takes about 10 months before truck says that its time to change. But, is it bad to leave the same oil in there for 10 months even though its only been driven 3,000 miles?
Anyone have any thoughts?
Thanks
3rdshift

Old 08-08-2016, 07:42 AM
pawpaw
Received 73 Likes on 71 Posts
Welcome to FTE.

Generally it's ok to follow the IOLM, or the OCI outlined in the owners manual.

BUT that will depend on the condition of the vehicle, if your using the specified service grade & viscosity engine oil, air filter, fuel filter, oil filter & servicing the vehicle as specified by Ford, as the system is calibrated to operate with lubes & filters that meet or exceed Fords requirements.

If we use other goods that say in writing they meet or exceed Fords specifications, we should be good to go.

If we use parts or fluids that are outside Fords recommendations, then it would be wise to have an oil analysis performed to see how things are going for our choice of filters, lubes, given the drive cycle & environment it's occurring in.

If it's humid, or cold & it's being mostly short tripped, where the oil isn't getting up to operating temp so the PCV system can purge condensate, fuel, blow by, ect putrid's from the crankcase, that's severe service & a more frequent OCI might be wise. How frequent can be determined by an oil analysis, to determine how long it's ok to use our oil & filter choices, under the use conditions.

Many say change at one year, no matter the mileage.