Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Introduction and a few questions

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2016, 05:11 PM
Bombguy2
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Introduction and a few questions

I've been on this forum awhile, trolling mostlyin the 7.3 area.

My name is Rob, and I'm a Retired Army,and a Commercial truck driver. I know my way around an engine somewhat but I am not a mechanic.

I picked up an 02 F250. It's a 7.3 PowerStroke (obviously).

It's got 160k on the odometer, but starts and runs beautifully. I had my mechanic check it over about a year ago and she is starting to develop a rear main seal leak. I drive a truck over the road so she sits for weeks at a time. I have had this truck for about 4 years and the only 4 upgrades that i have done is

1) Banks Cold Air intake the complete kit ( box and filter)

and

2) An Earl's 43400A - Earl's Temp-A-Cure Wide Oil Coolers + Fan, this is a 34 row extra transmission cooler mounted in conjunction with my stock 19 row to help keep the trans temp cool while towing a 33ft V-nose trailer.

3) FOX 2.0 shocks all the way around.

4) Slotted and drilled over size brake rotors.

The truck ran great till last week.

First I noticed the "Check Gage" light came on. I didnt mess with it just parked it.

Today I started it up and the light was OFF so I was driving it to the FORD dealer when a series of things happened with no indication.

The truck died, I lost my brakes and power steering. I came to a stop on the side of the road and popped the hood.

I have alot burnt oil smell and smoke, I notice the coolant res was empty.

I had a gallon of 15w40 and 50/50 coolant in the truck. I put the coolant in first and it was like Mount Saint Helens erupted spewing this rusty colored muck all over ( the new stuff I put in was green) needless to say the res is empty. I checked the oil level and it was fine. And after about an hour I tried to start the truck and she cranks but wont start.