1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Locker. Where to begin?

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2016, 09:54 AM
kcducttaper
Tuned
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Locker. Where to begin?

I'm interested in dropping a manual locker (switch on the dash style) in my '99 F-250. I'm pretty new to lockers, but I think all I really need to match up is just the diff size (8.8, I believe) and the diff ratio doesn't really matter as the locker is just going inside the ring gear. I know pneumatics were the way to go for a while, but if electric lockers are a viable option these days for light duty work (driving firewood out of the woods, pulling the boat up the boat ramp, etc a handful of times a year), I think I would prefer to go the electric route. If anyone has some more knowledge to drop, I would appreciate it!

Old 06-20-2016, 10:05 AM
projectnitemare
Laughing Gas
Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts
99 f250, 7 lug or 8 lug, that will matter as they are different platforms entirely. From what I gather you are looking for an electronic locker for the rear axle? If for the rear there's no carrier break meaning the differential is good for all ratios. The Dana front axles typically have a break for 3.73& down and 4.10&up. You can also run into thick and thin ring gears so you need to know what you have. You will need to reshim the carrier for backlash during the install.

Old 06-20-2016, 01:21 PM
kcducttaper
Tuned
I'm not really sure I know what you mean on the lugs thing. Surely it's not just counting the number of bolts on the diff cover...? Yeah, it's the rear I'm interested in. It's a 2wd with 4.10's and I just want a little more traction back there on occasion at low speed is all.

Old 06-20-2016, 03:15 PM
texastech_diesel
Token Redneck

Received 89 Likes on 48 Posts