6.7L Power Stroke Diesel 2011-current Ford Powerstroke 6.7 L turbo diesel engine

Wiring PIAA 520 lights to high beams on 2011 F250

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2016, 11:32 AM
Firekite
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Wiring PIAA 520 lights to high beams on 2011 F250

I thought I'd go ahead and pass this along, because I'm no electrician and have a hard time figuring out schematics. So while it turns out it's pretty simple, there are a few questions I couldn't find answers to, and now that I figured it out, I might as well share my success.

First of all, I went with the PIAA 520 (5296 - ATP XTreme White Plus Halogen Lamp Kit) that I got off Amazon, and I wanted to use the very nice sealed relay and wiring setup that comes with the kit. PIAA expects you to use their push-button switch, ostensibly mounted in the cab somewhere, which requires wiring to some minimal source of power to feed the switch, and the switch kicks on the relay (that then powers the lights directly from the battery), and that lawyer-approved canned solution is all that's documented. Easy enough if you use it that way.

But in my case I just wanted them to come on with the high beams, as I drive on dark country roads a lot and don't want to have to futz with a cheesy button sticky-taped to the dash. Turn on the brights, the PIAA's come on, turn off the lights or switch back to low beams, the PIAA's turn off. So I called them, and they were super helpful. They answered the phone right away, understood exactly what I was trying to do, and gave me clear verbal instructions on how to accomplish it. Based on great customer service experience, together with a consistently high level of product quality, PIAA has made me a fan.

It turns out, yes, I had to remove the grille, and then the driver's side headlight. I Googled up a YouTube video or two on how to do it, and of course @EpicCowlick's videos were very useful as always. Short version: