1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

83 F250 getting no fuel to carb

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2016, 08:37 PM
Meats12
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
83 F250 getting no fuel to carb

Hi, I recently got my 1983 F250 7.5L out for the summer and ran it down the road and it ran really good. But when I went to drive it after putting insurance and plates on it, it would only run for thirty or forty seconds at idle then die. I had this same problem last year at this time and found out it was an oil pressure switch. I replaced it and it fixed the problem. I text the oil pressures switch by completing the circuit with a bypass wire but still the same problem. What could it be? I appreciate any feedback.

Old 05-05-2016, 08:38 PM
Meats12
Freshman User
I tested it again this year**

Old 05-06-2016, 09:41 AM
Gary Lewis
Posting Legend
Received 26 Likes on 24 Posts
I'm not an expert on this, or anything for that matter, so I'll stick to giving you a link to the schematics and troubleshooting info from the EVTM: Electric Fuel Pump Control - Gary's Garagemahal. Hopefully those who are the experts will be along soon.

Old 05-06-2016, 02:09 PM
Meats12
Freshman User
Originally Posted by Gary Lewis
I'm not an expert on this, or anything for that matter, so I'll stick to giving you a link to the schematics and troubleshooting info from the EVTM: Electric Fuel Pump Control - Gary's Garagemahal. Hopefully those who are the experts will be along soon.
Thank you for the link!

Old 05-06-2016, 03:01 PM
WhatsAChevy?
Posting Guru
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
"[Quote]: I recently got my 1983 F250 7.5L out for the summer"
This may sound elementary but....from your description, the truck was stored during the winter months ?