Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1990 Ford F150 302 5.0 Low Idle On Cold Startup

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2016, 10:45 AM
etmooneyha21
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy 1990 Ford F150 302 5.0 Low Idle On Cold Startup

Newbie here so please keep that in mind.

I have a 1990 Ford F150 with the 302 5.0 and I've recently just started troubleshooting low engine idle on cold startup. Temperature here yesterday was 39F and idle stays around 700 RPMs. From what I read on cold start, it should hit somewhere above a 1000 RPMs and stay for a while until the engine starts to warm up and gradually come back down until it goes into Closed Loop, then relying on the O2 Sensor [Have one ready to go in, just haven't been able to get the one currently installed out yet].

I started with the ECT and replace it. The old ECTs connector is spinning freely from the brass housing so I'm assuming it's bad / disconnected on the inside? I tested it with my DVM and couldn't get a reading on the 200k scale. If I remember correctly it was reading .052 on the 2M Ohm scale. When I replaced the ECT, I didn't have the battery disconnected. In hindsight, I think I should have. Anyways, after the ECT change, startup was the same, 700 RPMs or so. However this time, once the temperature reached 150-160, something changed, idle dropped to around 650 if I recall and then it started bouncing around, eventually stalling out. Could this be the PCM going into closed-loop with a faulty O2 sensor?