Sponsored by: Moser

351m Blown Head Gasket

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2016, 02:38 PM
drumdude
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
351m Blown Head Gasket

I've got a bit of a dilemma right now and would love some sage advice!

Truck: 1979 F159 351m

I was driving down the highway on Saturday night when I noticed significant clouds of smoke coming out of my tailpipe. I pulled over to find coolant pouring out the tailpipe, smoke coming off of my 220' motor, and milky colored oil on the dipstick. I was stuck on the highway, so I filled up my radiator and added oil so that I could limp my way .2 miles to a gas station. From there I got a tow back home. All signs seem to point towards a blown head gasket and now I'm trying to decide what to do, any input would be very helpful.

I am fairly mechanically inclined and do nearly all the work on my vehicles myself. I am a quick learner and have been able to get things done on my truck that I've never done before, simply by being careful, thorough, and getting advice from "those who know." However, I'm really not sure if I should try to repair this myself or if I should just fork over the money to have a mechanic do it.

I do use it as a daily driver, but also have a motorcycle that I can use for most things while the truck is out of service. In addition, I currently don't have a garage and so this would all have to be done in my apartment parking lot. I would really love to save some money (the one quote that I got from a mechanic - hasn't actually seen the truck - was about $850) and would love to learn how to do this, buy I also don't want to screw it up.

So, simply put here are my questions.

1) Should I try to do this myself? I know its not the most simple job, but seems doable.

2) If I do it myself, what all should I plan on replacing? I think i would probably take the heads into a shop to have them check for cracks and warping and possibly have them do the valve seals too?