Modular V10 (6.8l)  

Turbo charge it

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2015, 08:00 AM
treyw147
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Turbo charge it

Well guys, I've got a serious question here.
So I'm a mechanic for the army, basically a glorified parts changer. But I know my way around a block, but I still have questions. From time to time we get are hands on parts, tools, ect... This time I got a turbo that came off a diesel hummve. My question is, would this turbo work in a gas truck? And what all would I have to do to my V10 engine so I could run this turbo?
Thank you

Old 07-30-2015, 07:29 PM
Drunken_Unicorn
Posting Guru
My guess would be no. Those turbos are designed to provide boost at a very specific rpm range. A diesel starts to fly apart at the rpm range that the v10 likes to live. You might be able to swap the impellers to get the right speeds, but I think the cost associated with it might end up being more than that of a new turbo. :/

I like the out of the box thinking though. :thumbs

Old 07-31-2015, 04:42 AM
Im50fast
Cargo Master
Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts
And!

Even if you had a properly sized/fitted turbocharger, you would still need:

-intercooler
-custom air ducting to the intercooler
-custom air ducting to the turbo
-custom air ducting from intercooler to engine
-custom exhaust piping
-custom engine tune/chip
- upgraded injectors
- upgraded fuel pump
- custom mass air sensor
- custom oil feed and return lines
- custom coolant feed and return lines

Turbochargers are like women: real sexy at a glance, but an investigative deeper look tones it down considerably.

Old 08-15-2015, 02:34 AM
StangMan
Senior User
Well, I'll go the other way since I build turbo systems for a living, lol.