1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

Replacing the front shocks

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2015, 11:06 AM
AAubinoe
Tuned
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Replacing the front shocks

Hey I am in the process of doing the front shocks on a 1999 E350. First of all, this is my first time buying KYB shocks, wanted to say they look alot like a Bilstein for half the price.

Name:  GRvNMqf.jpg
Views: 120
Size:  749.3 KB

Anyways, the driver shock is alot tougher to get to the top nut. Is something wrong here? Passenger side is easy.

Can reach in and grab the not nut no issues:
Name:  VK4A8D3.jpg
Views: 127
Size:  615.0 KB

What to do on the driver side? I may just sawzall it because there is no way to get leverage.
Name:  EjZ93Wd.jpg
Views: 141
Size:  509.2 KB

Also, first time I have ever seen post mount shocks on a solid rear axle vehicle!

Thanks for any tips.

Old 07-24-2015, 12:45 PM
erickz
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the pics. Please post how you did the swap. How much were the KYBs ? Part numbers? I need to do this to my van. Thanks

Old 07-24-2015, 02:27 PM
REDOVAL
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Austin,

Front shock replacement is a pain on the driver's side. I was able to sneak a flex head ratchet with a deep socket onto the stem nut and use an open end wrench on the visible fixed nut flats on the bottom of the rubber isolator to loosen/tighten the shock. It looks like the KYB units have the same setup so you should be good to go. Once loose, grab the upper sleeve of the shock and loosen them by hand. I have also seen people relieve the ear on the tower around the upper bolt for wrench access, but it isn't necessary in my opinion.

Scott

Old 07-24-2015, 02:52 PM
YoGeorge
Logistics Pro
Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts