77 F150XLT Rebuild

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2015, 09:32 PM
Rakillia
Cross-Country
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
77 F150XLT Rebuild

Hello FTE,
I'm Mike from NW New Jersey. I'm a motorcycle mechanic. I usually work on air cooled, carbureted, inline-4, mid 80's Japanese motorcycles. Very simple machines to work on so this will be a step up.

I just bought a project truck

I had been looking for a good truck for about 8 months. Looked at 4 before getting this. The PO was a good guy and had owned it since 2004. I think we were both ok with the price. He used it for what it was made for but kept it out of the elements. I was happy to own an american truck again but when I decoded the vin.....yup, built in Canada. Gotta love that.

Interesting 45 mile ride home. 16 year old tires, Power steering fluid pissing everywhere. Rode like a wagon with an angry horse. Bucking and dodging in random directions. Top speed was around 50 before it made too much singing for comfort. It didn't really like making a right turn and when the PS fluid ran out it was on then off every other second. Not to mention being able to turn the wheel 4 inches in either direction before it did anything but I saw a thread for that.

Solid frame, manageable surface rust but needs a ton of work. This thread will not be much about cosmetics because I don't really care about how it looks. I think it looks good as it sits. Maybe some bigger rims and I need to stop the rust but my only concerns right now are mechanical. I'll start with all fluids and filters changed. Everything made of rubber needs to be replaced, especially in the suspension. I always go in with the assumption that everything is as old as the machine. This is a really good forum and the search function is excellent. I already got some great help when I was thinking about buying the truck. https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1...-c6-issue.html