1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Mildly lifted F-350: Toning down the bounce?

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2015, 11:57 PM
SheepShanker
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Mildly lifted F-350: Toning down the bounce?

Hi everyone, been lurking for a while and this is my first time posting. Done a fair bit of searching concerning my issue, but now it's time to ask the experts!

This is my first full-size truck, first diesel, and first largish camper that I bought it to tow. So it's been quite a crash course learning all the new stuff, but I am in love with the truck (especially now that I've got a DP Tuner in there!), and want to make it work better for my needs.

The truck: Early 99 F-350 7.3 crew cab long bed, with what appears to be a 4 inch lift, on 35" BFG AT's. Has air bags in the back, too.

It's duty: Hauling dirt bikes and the occasional yard stuff in the bed, and towing a small (~5,000 lbs) toy hauler. Honestly, I really should have bought a 3/4 ton, but this was a good deal!

The issue: It's bouncy. Like, real bouncy. So bouncy that it makes it hard to press on the gas pedal consistently because my foot is bouncing off it. In the front, all I see is leaf springs/shocks, so I assume the leaf springs have been upgraded to taller ones. In the back, there is clearly a 3.5" block between the axle and the springs there.

So, what I'm thinking of doing is putting a set of F-250 leaf springs on there (with 2" of lift, like a leveling lift), and then taking the lift block out of the rear. I know it will drop the truck a little bit, but I am okay with that if it will give me some better drivability. Towing the camper should be no sweat, and if I end up getting something bigger down the road, I can just swap in the beefier suspension.

The top product on this page is the leaf spring I was looking at: