Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Just bought my first idi

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2015, 04:00 PM
jschossow
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Just bought my first idi

Okay guys I'm new to diesels and forums so take it easy on me. I bought a 1989 f350 7.3 with the zf5 and an ats turbo the other day. A little history that I know on the truck is that it was purchased brand new in late spring 1989 by a kid fresh out of high school. He must've taken great care of the truck. I was told that it was backed into while he was at work and damaged the front passenger side of the truck. He fixed everything then painted it a nice grey and black two tone. He owned it up until 2011 or 12 where it left Missouri where it had been it's whole life and made it's way into south east iowa where it fell into the hands of another kid who had it for a a while. This is when I saw the first ad for it on Craigslist claiming it burned and leaked oil. I loved the way it looked. I tried to arranged a time that I could come look at the truck but he seemed like a jackass so I gave up. Then a few weeks ago I saw an ad for a 1989 ford f350 on Craigslist. It said it was about 4 miles south of Duncombe, Iowa which is about 15 miles away from me here in North Central iowa. So I called him and arranged a time to check it out.. sure enough it was the same truck! The guy that bought it actually said he was cousins with the original owner. But he did some work on it but it still leaked and burned oil. Plus he wanted $5,000 for it (I'll pass). A few days later one of my good friends said he traded his crew cab chevy 3500 for it but didn't have a need for it. Long story short I bought it for $3,000.