1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Rear Disc Brakes

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2015, 08:48 AM
GreatNorthWoods
Lead Driver
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Rear Disc Brakes

I have a friend with a 50 Ford F-1 and he wants disc brakes on the rear. I've never felt that disc brakes were needed on these trucks but agreed to find out what I could for him. I have no experience with rear discs at all. He already has front discs and a Corvette MC so adding rear discs should not be too hard to accomplish. He definitely wants a parking brake. The rear end in the truck is a 1970 Chevy Nova. Has anyone done this or have any suggestion as to what might work best. He's looking at a kit that uses Cadillac Seville rotors and calipers...

Old 01-08-2015, 08:55 AM
fladoodle
Senior User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Originally Posted by GreatNorthWoods
I have a friend with a 50 Ford F-1 and he wants disc brakes on the rear. I've never felt that disc brakes were needed on these trucks but agreed to find out what I could for him. I have no experience with rear discs at all. He already has front discs and a Corvette MC so adding rear discs should not be too hard to accomplish. He definitely wants a parking brake. The rear end in the truck is a 1970 Chevy Nova. Has anyone done this or have any suggestion as to what might work best. He's looking at a kit that uses Cadillac Seville rotors and calipers...
Many places do rear disc kits for that style rear end. I'd personally try SSBC, as they are a pretty popular company for disc brakes conversion kits, especially for that vintage of GM vehicle. your other big performance type brake companies, (Wilwood, Baer, etc.) should also have some sort of alternative, but will be more $$$ than the SSBC.

Old 01-08-2015, 09:14 AM
ben73058
Logistics Pro
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Hey Vern