1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

my puzzle

Search this Thread

Old 09-05-2014, 11:29 PM
thatlazyguy
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
my puzzle

Hi, first things first I don't have a scanner for this truck, mine is actron auto scanner plus and it wont retrieve any codes . My question is, do i have buy the gold plated scanner and spend all of the money for it, or can i spend below 200 and take care of most issues that I'm going to run into?
I'm new to diesel so enjoy if you have to but I do enjoy working cars , already learned about turn signal fluid, muffler bearing, and my favorite canooter valve.

problem vehicle 1996 ford super duty 7.3 turbo diesel (rollback/flatbed)
338000+ miles
Running on passenger bank only, unplugged driver side injectors 1 at a time nothing changed.
Driver side also had the glow plug wires melted in the valve cover gasket
new parts installed are as follows all 4 ds injectors all 4 injectors wire set(inside)
valve cover gaskets one ds front harness side pig tale
hpop oil (replaced) and oil change

Old 09-06-2014, 01:49 AM
stainlessstroker95
Postmaster
Could be the idm. It is the electrical box mounted on the drivers side fender. They tend to get water in them and short out. Try taking it out and shake it, and listen for water. And as for scanners, alot dont speak powerstroke. There are a couple options for around 300. A scan gauge is nice. It can be mounted and can do different test, read codes, and see what the pcm sees, A edge evolution is another, option, if you just want to see codes and a couple gauges your pcm sees. It is a programmer but it is not recomended to use it as that. Another popular one is AE. But a little more in price and you need a laptop. And just so you know, the hpop oil is the same as your engine oil. No need to change them separate.

Old 09-06-2014, 02:22 AM
madpogue
Lead Driver
Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts