1961 - 1966 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Slick Sixties Ford Truck

Truck Pricing

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2014, 07:48 PM
PapaMatt
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Truck Pricing

Hi folks, just joined the forums and hoping I might be able to get some advice on pricing for a couple of trucks I am looking at. I am looking to get a 60s truck and have been going back and forth on Chevy 67+ and the 61-66 Fords. I've found a few of the latter and would appreciate some advice.

I've found three nearish to me:

1963 - not a lot of pics and seems way overpriced to me but I am not an expert.

1963 f100 only 76k miles

1966 - obviously not original. Has disc brakes on front. I would lower rear to stock.

66 Ford f100

1966 - previously restored but has not been kept up recently. It is not too far way and may go check it out tomorrow. Need to see what the "minor work" on the he engine might be.

1966 Ford F100 Pickup

I appreciate any guidance. Thanks!

Old 07-25-2014, 09:03 PM
Shadowrider123
Posting Guru
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
I have found the cost of body/paint work to be prohibitive, and that's the cheap part. I was quoted $6500 to paint my truck inside and out, that's with almost no body work, no rust repair. Then theres $500 for a grill, $1000 for custom cab side trim, $250 each for bumpers, another $1000 to rebuild the doors, and you haven't touched the engine or tranny.

I see a bunch of these trucks with an asking price of 15-20k and they stay for sale month after month. That's what the owners have in them and they cant get their money out of them.

You can find a really nice 61-66 F100 that needs nothing or only minor work in the 10-13k price range.

Of the three you posted, I like the last one best. I like the painted bumpers and grill, the hub caps run $100 each. The six has a ton of potential and later 300 parts will bolt right on. You can also convert to a automatic or T-5 with minimal trouble.

Old 07-25-2014, 09:20 PM
1tonner