Sponsored by:

Rear axle hub seal questions

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2014, 11:15 AM
Runamuck
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Rear axle hub seal questions

Let me start by saying that I am not a mechanic and I do not pretend to be one. Please forgive me if my questions appear novice or stupid.

I have a 2001 Ex 2 wheel drive with the 7.3L diesel. I had the rear axle hub seals replaced about 2 years because the driver's side seal was leaking grease. The mechanic used parts from the Ford Dealership when they were replaced and everything seemed to be going well.

Fast forward to today........

My tire shop removed my rear driver's side rims to rotate the tires and it appears that the same seal is slinging grease again. Now I may not be a mechanic but it seems to me that the seals should last longer than 2 years before they have problems again.

Can someone suggest what may be happening to cause this or maybe suggest a better brand of seals which will last longer? I understand that the Ex is a big truck and needs extra work but when I replace things I want to make sure they are upgraded and last longer than the original or at least longer than two years. Is there anything else that I should have the mechanic do to the Ex while he is doing this work that will improve the Ex? Keeping in mind that unfortunately money IS a factor so I can not write a blank check.

I am also having to replace the upper and lower ball joints on the Ex. Any suggestions as to what upgrades I should do while everything is apart on the front end? I already have the Rancho RS9000XL shocks all around and am happy with those.

I have been considering doing the V/B spring upgrade for some time and am also wondering if now would be the time to do the upgrade since the front and rear are having work done on them anyway.