Sponsored by: DP Tuner

electrical gremlins

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2013, 07:57 PM
ccrscubby
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
electrical gremlins

The other night, I parked my 2002 F-350 7.3 4X4 in my garage and the next morning it wouldn't start. As long as ignition was in crank position, it would run. As soon as ignition back to run position, it would quit.
I have been a diesel mechanic all my life, and run a 24 hour road service business, so I have run across a lot of different problems, but I gotta say, this one has me perplexed.
I checked all the fuses first and they were all good. Next I checked to see what else wasn't working. No glow plugs, but wts light was coming on. No fuel pump, no radio, no power windows, no communication to dlc, no switched-power (#71, red wire) to ecm. Ignition switch seemed to be fine, but replaced with new one anyway. Checked for power to fuses. Had no power to #22 & #23 (engine control), #42 (delayed accessory), and #36 (pcm keep alive).
I disconnected the batteries and reconnected them, hoping for a miracle. Tried starting again to no avail. But after cranking for a few seconds, it quit turning over. Checked all fusable links that I could find. Had power to starter relay. Removed fuse box, took apart and found starter circuit in printed circuit burned up. Repaired as needed, checked all other circuits in printed circuit, put fuse box back in, had starter working again, but still no start.
I was running out of time, as it was almost time to leave for christmas with inlaws 500 miles away and wife was getting nervous.
I cut ecm wire(#71, red wire), spliced it to switched power, which made a couple of things click, jumpered the fuse box as needed to get power to fuse #22, 23, 42, and 36.
Now I had power to all systems, but still won't start. Replaced pcm, and fired right up. Check engine light on, no communication with glow plug circuit. Glow plugs work fine. Tried clearing code, but code clearing kept failing.