6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

Slow acceleration

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2013, 03:38 PM
davalt75
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Slow acceleration

I guess slow is a relative term, but it seems like my '10 6.4 takes a little longer than I'd like getting up to speed going from a dead stop up to around 45-50 mph. I've read about turbo lag. While I'm pretty sure I have experienced turbo lag when trying to pull out into traffic in a hurry, this is more of just the truck taking too long (in my opinion) to get up to speed when accelerating from a red light or stop sign. It's not terrible mind you, but it seems like the car or truck at the light always leaves me, then I catch up down the road a bit. This is my first diesel and I've only had it about 4 months, so I'm still learning. It could be just my driving style. I try to be easy on the pedal, or it could be that It's just a 6,000+ lb. truck and it takes a minute to get all that weight rolling. Is there anything (mods) that might help?

Old 11-17-2013, 10:18 AM
Midwest Dually
Posting Guru
What a tricky topic!

I have kind of wondered the same about my 2010 6.4.. It is strange, but my 97 7.3 has a lot of get up go, and flies off the line. But then again, i have modified it.

I noticed in my 6.4, that it isnt until 45mph or so, that when I lay the pedal down, it will really get up and scoot. But I think there are a couple factors with these trucks I have noticed when driving that helps explain it. I first wondered if my transmission was slipping at all with the delays. But looking at the vehicle weight and platform, that there is a lot of weight being shoved around there. That with the fact that in stock form, they do great, but they are not off the line monsters.