Sponsored by: Moser

77 f350 what should i do to it?

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2013, 11:09 PM
xtamer
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
77 f350 what should i do to it?

I bought myself a 77 f350 dually rear wheel drive 4 speed manual flat bed.
I wanted to see if you guys had some ideas to throw at me. im thinking dual straight pipe exaust. its got the 351 v8 not sure if its cleavland Windsor. its also been sitting for about ten years. Im new to carb motors, any need to knows would be appreciated too thanks.

Old 09-15-2013, 11:41 PM
Dave145
Posting Guru
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
If its been sitting for awhile, a full tune up is first on the list. I'd also reccommend rebuilding the carb and doing a visual inspection on all vacuum hoses. Check all your fluids and change them (oil, coolant, trans fluid for starters. I even usually do a power steering fluid flush too). Replace all the filters. Check tires for dry rot. Actually just replace the tires if you plan on using the truck a lot. (recently had 2 of my 25 year old tires explode on me out on the highway...not fun). Plenty of articles on how to retune the carb to optimal specs online so Id do that too. Also run some seafoam through the engine as well once the engine is running (just to clean out crap).

Dual exhaust is good in my opion but straight pipes will be pretty loud, even for me (I like loud trucks ) I recommend buying the cheap thrush glasspacks from napa. I have em on my truck and they sound pretty agressive and plenty deep and loud especially if you have a heavy foot.

I guess Id recommend making 2 lists. One list is for things that you NEED to do to make the truck run soundly. The other list is for things you'd like to do to the truck.

How many miles on this truck? Any pics?

Old 09-16-2013, 01:47 AM
armstrongz34
Junior User